Sportsman’s Trophy introduced to Racing Cup


This year’s Milltek Sport Volkswagen Racing Cup is to feature a new competition aimed at encouraging the ‘gentleman driver’.

Called the RacingLine Sportsman’s Trophy, it will be awarded in each of the championship’s 16 races to the best-placed driver meeting the following criteria:

  • Aged 35 or over
  • A regular competitor in the Volkswagen Racing Cup during the 2013 and 2014 seasons who did not finish inside the top seven in either year

If one of the eligible drivers finishes in the top seven this season, winning the Sportsman’s Trophy in the process, he or she will be ineligible to win it again.

Championship manager Matt Walker said: “We are very pleased to be introducing the Sportsman’s Trophy to the Milltek Sport Volkswagen Racing Cup for 2015. There are 11 drivers who will be eligible to win the cup at every race, so it will provide an additional prize that a third of the grid can aim for.”

The opening rounds of the Milltek Sport Volkswagen Racing Cup take place at Oulton Park over the Easter weekend (4-6 April). This season will see 16 races decide the championship outcome, with longer races planned for the Spa, Snetterton and Donington Park events.

Recent News